Troubled by noise.

I have great problems using popular shopping sites because I can’t separate the signal from the noise. Extraneous “offers”, buttons, icons, ads, box-outs, tiny ads between bigger ads, text-only repeats of graphic buttons, recent history, things I may be interested in, things others also bought, random crap…

When I do manage to drill down to the tiny bit in the middle that should detail The Thing I’m interested in, I still suffer noise overload.

6types

This image shows the tiny bit of real info in the middle of a hugely complex and noisy Amazon window. It took me about 30 seconds to find out whether or not delivery is free because for some reason I simply blanked out the large “Delivered Free in the UK”.

In the highlighted part, there are 6 styles of type. That’s one line of text with 6 styles of type! In that small section as a whole I think there are 17 different styles of type. It goes against everything I was ever taught in graphic design school, and it just looks absolutely horrible. It’s insane, but I wonder why I find it so troublesome and why no one else seems to.

I mean, I assume they have run tests and know this is what the majority of people want, and that most people don’t have an issue. Haven’t they?

What do you think?

